Opening of the Cambrai Tank 1917 museum

Abancourt Stele

Remarkable monument paying tribute to the martyred village of the Great War.

Commemorative monument, with obelisk shape, built of freestone.


During the first world war, the village is completely destroyed.

In the years 1920-1930 a column is erected, topped with the long palm of martyr, the olive tree branches, mixed with the oak foliage, capped with the soldier helmet, engraved inside a laurel wreath.

On it, also sculptured, the Croix de Guerre surrounded with flags.

 

Hours:

Anytime
 

Location:

Place de l'Eglise
59268 Abancourt
 

Contact:

City Hall Abancourt
22 Grand Rue
03 27 79 90 44
mairieabancourt@wanadoo.fr

Office de Tourisme du Cambrésis
48,rue de Noyon
59400 CAMBRAI
Tél: +3 3( 0) 32 77 83 61 5
Mail:

Whether they follow the Escaut, drive along country roads, discover the picturesque alleys of the old Cambrai, fortified farms, museums, learn about Matisse and Blériot, lace ang giants, tourists will understand why the inhabitants of this part of France are so happy to welcome them feel like coming back.

Online Booking