Opening of the Cambrai Tank 1917 museum

Anneux British Cemetery

1013 burials but only 554 identified.

The Anneux British Cemetery is 200 metres from the junction of the N30 - from Cambrai to Bapaume - and D15.

 

Visiting Information:

Wheelchair access to this cemetery is possible, but may be by alternative entrance.
(For further information regarding wheelchair access, please contact the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, Enquiries Section on 01628 507200.)

 

 

Historical Information:

Anneux, Havrincourt and Graincourt were captured by the 62nd (West Riding) Division on 20 and 21 November 1917. Anneux remained in Allied hands until the following 6 December. It was recaptured on 27 September 1918, by the 57th (West Lancashire) and 63rd (Royal Naval) Divisions, acting with the 52nd (Lowland) and the 1st and 4th Canadian Divisions. These six divisions, with the New Zealand Division (which carried on the advance in October 1918), are most largely represented in the cemetery.

The original cemetery was made by the 57th Division Burial Officer and by various units in October 1918. At the Armistice it contained 131 graves but was then greatly increased when graves were brought in from the surrounding battlefields and small cemeteries in the area, including:-
Delmadge Cemetery, Fontaine-Notre-Dame, 900 metres north-east of the railway station, contained the graves of Lieut. R.B. Delmadge and 23 other Canadian soldiers who fell in September and October, 1918.

Flot Farm Cemetery, Marcoing, on the South side of a farm nearly 1.6 kms west of Rumilly village. Thirty-four soldiers of the 2nd O.B.L.I., who fell on the 1st October, were buried there in one grave.

Anneux British Cemetery now contains 1,013 burials and commemorations of the First World War. 459 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate seven casualties believed to be buried among them.

The cemetery was designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens.

 

On April 10th 1975, with Vice-Consul Pierre Marchal's approbation, Florence Bartlette's ashes have been buried on the left side of the British Monument. She was born in London on December 27th 1888 and expressed the will that her last resting place will be close to her husband who died during the war.

 

Office de Tourisme du Cambrésis
48,rue de Noyon
59400 CAMBRAI
Tél: +3 3( 0) 32 77 83 61 5
Mail:

Whether they follow the Escaut, drive along country roads, discover the picturesque alleys of the old Cambrai, fortified farms, museums, learn about Matisse and Blériot, lace ang giants, tourists will understand why the inhabitants of this part of France are so happy to welcome them feel like coming back.

Online Booking