Opening of the Cambrai Tank 1917 museum

Le Cateau Communal Cemetery

Over 150 burials

Location Information:

 

The Communal Cemetery is located on Rue de Fesmy. The cemetery is surrounded by a fifteen foot high wall upon which a CWGC plaque will be found. Cemetery number 32.

 

Visiting Information:

Wheelchair access to this cemetery is possible with some difficulty. For further information regarding wheelchair access, please contact the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, Enquiries Section, on telephone number 01628 507200.

 

 

Historical Information:

Used by Germans to bury British soldiers in August and September 1914 and by the Allied the three last monts of war in 1918. there are now more than 150 burials but 50 unidentified. The 65 German sepultures were removed in 1922.

 

 

 

Office de Tourisme du Cambrésis
48,rue de Noyon
59400 CAMBRAI
Tél: +3 3( 0) 32 77 83 61 5
Mail:

Whether they follow the Escaut, drive along country roads, discover the picturesque alleys of the old Cambrai, fortified farms, museums, learn about Matisse and Blériot, lace ang giants, tourists will understand why the inhabitants of this part of France are so happy to welcome them feel like coming back.

Online Booking