During the course of the Battle of Cambrai the British never managed to seize control of Rumilly behind the Hindenburg Line. On 20th November 1917, the soldiers’ advance was blocked at Masnières, while on the following day the German infantry’s armour-piercing shells took care of the few tanks approaching from Marcoing. Rumilly was laid waste but was rebuilt after the war. Its church now houses remarkable canvasses by Lucien Jonas.
48,rue Henri de Lubac
Tél: +3 3( 0) 32 77 83 61 5
Whether they follow the Escaut, drive along country roads, discover the picturesque alleys of the old Cambrai, fortified farms, museums, learn about Matisse and Blériot, lace ang giants, tourists will understand why the inhabitants of this part of France are so happy to welcome them and will feel like coming back.