16. Vaucelles

Used by Germans as storage and command headquarters, the Abbey of Vaucelles was burned down in 1917.

Founded in the XIIth century, Vaucelles abbey was requisitioned by the Germans for use as storage and as a command headquarters. To prevent items stored falling into British hands, the Germans set fire to them in November 1917, destroying the medieval buildings and the XVIIIth century abbot’s residence. The abbey was once again the scene of bitter confrontations in 1918 and evidence of this fighting can still be seen on its walls.

 

 

Office de Tourisme du Cambrésis
48,rue de Noyon
59400 CAMBRAI
Tél: +3 3( 0) 32 77 83 61 5
Mail:

Whether they follow the Escaut, drive along country roads, discover the picturesque alleys of the old Cambrai, fortified farms, museums, learn about Matisse and Blériot, lace ang giants, tourists will understand why the inhabitants of this part of France are so happy to welcome them feel like coming back.

Online Booking