Opening of the Cambrai Tank 1917 museum

24. Ribécourt-la-Tour

Ribécourt la Tour remained in Allied hands until the end of the Battle of Cambrai.

The effectiveness of the Hindenburg Line depended on knowledge of the terrain under occupation. In Ribécourt-la-Tour, the medieval underground shelters were used by the Germans, who fitted them out with their equipment. On 20th November 1917 General Elles, at the head of a tank battalion, seized the village and continued to advance. Ribécourt was to remain in Allied hands until the Germans’ 1918 offensive. Its later rebuilding was particularly harmonious and functional in style.

 

The Battle of Cambrai 4 - Ribécourt - Télécharger

Office de Tourisme du Cambrésis
48,rue de Noyon
59400 CAMBRAI
Tél: +3 3( 0) 32 77 83 61 5
Mail:

Whether they follow the Escaut, drive along country roads, discover the picturesque alleys of the old Cambrai, fortified farms, museums, learn about Matisse and Blériot, lace ang giants, tourists will understand why the inhabitants of this part of France are so happy to welcome them feel like coming back.

Online Booking