Following the D930 from Cambrai towards Bapaume, Louverval Military Cemetery and the Cambrai Memorial to the Missing are found on the right side of the road, just a little before the 'Department du Pas de Calais' sign. (Approx.16 kilometers south west from Cambrai after leaving Boursies village: Hameau de Louverval).
The Louverval Monument was built in 1930 as a reminder of the sacrifices made by the 3rd Army at Battle of Cambrai. It lost nearly 20,000 men, including 7048 whose bodies have never been found. The names of these soldiers are engraved on the wall of the peristyle.There is an impressive entrance structure with triple arches. The Memorial to the Missing is on this level to the right, while the cemetery is set down below in a hollow to the left. On the left hand of the entrance is inscribed the following: 'To the Glory of God and to the enduring memory of 7,048 Officers and Men of the forces of the British Empire who fell at the Battle of Cambrai 20 Nov - 3 Dec 1917 but who have no known grave. Their names are here recorded'. The inscription is also given in French on the right hand side.
The Memorial was designed by Harold Chalton Bradshaw with sculpture by Charles S. Jagger. It was unveiled by Lieut-General Sir Louis Vaughan on August 4, 1930.