Poppy
Orival Wood cemetery - Flesquières
"Maison forestière" Wilfred Owen - Ors

Montay-Neuvilly Road Cemetery

409 identified casualties

Location Information:

Montay is a village on the northern outskirts of Le Cateau. The Cemetery is one kilometre north of the village on the eastern side of the road to Solesmes.

 

Visiting Information:

Wheelchair access is possible with some difficulty.
For further information regarding wheelchair access, please contact the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, Enquiries Section, on telephone number 01628 507200.

 

Historical Information:

This cemetery was made by the 23rd Brigade, Royal Garrison Artillery, on 26 and 27 October 1918. It contained originally 111 graves, mainly of officers and men of the 38th (Welsh) and 33rd Divisions, and the 6th Dorsets, but after the Armistice it was increased when graves were brought in from the battlefields west, north and east of Montay, and from certain small cemeteries, including:-

HECQ BRITISH CEMETERY, on the Western edge of the village of Hecq, which contained the graves of 25 soldiers from the United Kingdom who fell in October and November 1918.

MONTAY-AMERVAL ROAD CEMETERY, MONTAY, made by the 38th (Welsh) Division at the beginning of November 1918, which contained the graves of 31 soldiers from the United Kingdom who fell on the 23rd-30th October.

NEUVILLY RAVINE CEMETERIES No.1 and No.2, both made the 17th Division. No.1 was in the ravine which runs South-West from Western edge of Neuvilly, and contained the graves of 21 soldiers from United Kingdom and one from Canada who fell on the 10th-12th October 1918. No.2 was a little East of the ravine, and contained the graves of 21 soldiers from the United Kingdom who fell on the 27th October.

RIVER CEMETERY, NEUVILLY, on the banks of the Selle, near the road to Briastre. It was made by the 6th Dorsets, and contained the graves 18 of their men who fell on the 11th October 1918.

NEUVILLY BRITISH CEMETERY (No.1), a little South-East of the village, made by the 17th Division which contained the graves of 22 soldiers from the United Kingdom who fell on the 12th October 1918.

CONNAUGHT CEMETERY, LE CATEAU, on the Le Cateau-Troisvilles road, contained the graves of 23 soldiers from the United Kingdom who fell in October 1918. Twenty of them belonged to the 5th Connaught Rangers.

There are now 470 Commonwealth burials and commemorations of the First World War in this cemetery. 61 of the burials are unidentified but there is a special memorial to one casualty believed to be buried among them. All fell in the period October or November 1918. There is also a plot of 27 German graves within the cemetery.

The cemetery was designed by Charles Holden.

 

 

Office de Tourisme du Cambrésis
48,rue de Noyon
59400 CAMBRAI
Tél: +3 3( 0) 32 77 83 61 5
Mail:

Whether they follow the Escaut, drive along country roads, discover the picturesque alleys of the old Cambrai, fortified farms, museums, learn about Matisse and Blériot, lace ang giants, tourists will understand why the inhabitants of this part of France are so happy to welcome them feel like coming back.

Online Booking