Opening of the Cambrai Tank 1917 museum

Archeo'Site

Professional and amateur archaeologists alike are in for a treat at this major site in the heart of Les Rues des Vignes village.

Less than thirty years old, this unique archeological site continues to increase in popularity

.

It is a place where vestiges of the past can be found and where living conditions from a thousand years ago can be experienced through the various craft workshops run (potters, weavers and thatchers).


In the course of the excavations that were carried out between 1979 and 1986, 9 Gallo-roman vaults, 342 Merovagian graves, silos and holes made by posts were found and recalled the existence of a post Carolingian settlement.


Guided tour every Sunday at 3 p.m. and the workshops are suitable for adults and children alike.



 


 

 

Horaires d'ouverture

From March to November :
The site is open every day (except on Mondays) from 9am to noon and 2pm to 6pm
(2pm to 6pm at week ends and on public holidays)
From November to March :
open only for groups on reservation.

Tarifs

Adults: 5€50 - Children: 4€50
Bread baked in cob ovens: 1€ per small loaf
Bronze casting: 15€50 for a party of 15 people.

Office de Tourisme du Cambrésis
48,rue de Noyon
59400 CAMBRAI
Tél: +3 3( 0) 32 77 83 61 5
Mail:

Whether they follow the Escaut, drive along country roads, discover the picturesque alleys of the old Cambrai, fortified farms, museums, learn about Matisse and Blériot, lace ang giants, tourists will understand why the inhabitants of this part of France are so happy to welcome them feel like coming back.

Online Booking